All measures of barrier-free communication from one source

abtipper.de is your partner for barrier-free communication. We create for you a free of charge and will also be happy to support you in the implementation.

Arrange now your non-binding consultation appointment!


abtipper.de is the largest German provider of audio and video transcription services. Our references:

typing references


Get your quote for
accessible communication now!

Get your quote for
accessible communication now!

Accessible communication means breaking down barriers, complying with legal requirements and showing commitment


Further information on accessible communication


Study on accessible online teaching at German universities

Barrier-free communication

There are over 80,000 deaf people living in Germany who have a right to participate in society.

In order to raise awareness for this important topic Accessible communication we have conducted a survey together with the Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft Hörbehinderter Studenten und Absolventen e.V. (BHSA). (BHSA) conducted a Survey on accessible online teaching at German universities survey.

It shows that a lot has already been achieved, but so far only 28% of online teaching in Germany is barrier-free. So there is a need for action!

The Results of the survey can be downloaded free of charge at the following link: 

Download the results

 

Disabled people have a right to education. This also includes barrier-free access to general higher education. Due to the ongoing Corona pandemic, primarily online teaching has been taking place at German universities for several semesters. PDFs, videos and podcasts are being used. How accessible are studies for people with disabilities at present?

The responses to the questions show that at the participating colleges and universities, the topic of digital accessibility is only dealt with to a limited extent is being addressed. On average, the participating universities state, that only 28 percent of online teaching is already accessible.. At none of the participating universities is all online teaching accessible.

The results of the survey show that there is an urgent need for action in the area of accessible communication in online teaching. Also in view of the constantly changing legal situation, it makes perfect sense for colleges and universities to upgrade in the area of accessible communication.


The study on barrier-free communication in online teaching at German universities was conducted by abtipper.de in cooperation with the Federal Working Group of Hearing Impaired Students and Graduates e.V.BHSA for short.

The BHSA is a contact point for questions and problems in the everyday life of hearing-impaired students. It sees itself as a self-help group for hearing-impaired people during their studies and when starting their careers. Its activities include communication training and introductory seminars. The BHSA was founded in 1986 and has about 300 members.


The results in detail - summary

The study aims to Accessibility in online teaching at German universities target. It is about digital barrier-free communication. Accessible communication encompasses various accessibility measures, including the use of easy language, sign language, written interpretation, aided communication and assistive technologies, audio description and subtitling for people with hearing disabilities. Through the use of these measures in online digital teaching, it is hoped to Communication barriers can be reduced or completely dismantled.

The survey aims to show the extent to which digital accessibility is implemented and strived for in online teaching. To this end, a survey entitled "Accessible communication in online teaching at colleges and universities" was conducted. 28 representatives from various German colleges and universities took part in the survey.

The responses to the questions show that at the participating colleges and universities, the The topic of digital accessibility is playing an increasingly important role plays.

The participating universities state on average that 28 percent of online teaching is already accessible.

At none of the participating universities is all online teaching accessible. The results of the survey show that there is an urgent need for action in the area of accessible communication in online teaching. Also in view of the constantly changing legal situation, it makes perfect sense for colleges and universities to upgrade in the area of accessible communication.


Background to the study on accessible communication

It is assumed that communication barriers are created by oral or written texts and the use of certain media that are not adapted to the intended recipient group, in this case the students. The target group "students" is very heterogeneous and consists of people with and without disabilities, people with divergent life situations and/or people with German as a mother tongue or foreign language.

In the course of this survey, online teaching is understood as digital teaching with the help of the internet. Systems and software such as Moodle, Zoom, BigBlueButton or Dropbox are used. Part of the teaching is supported by uploading audio and/or video files.

In this context, the external and internal internet presentation of higher education institutions and universities should be in line with the Disability Equality Act (BGG) on the implementation of the Directive (EU) 2016/21022 of the European Parliament and of the Council on barrier-free access to the websites and mobile applications of public bodies shall be designed to make content accessible without barriers wherever possible. It should also be noted that based on the Disability Equality Act (BGG), federal state laws such as the Saxon Inclusion Act (SächsInklusG) or the Lower Saxony Disability Equality Act (NBGG) exist.


Approach of the study on accessible communication

The survey aims to show the extent to which digital accessibility is implemented and strived for in online teaching. To this end, a survey entitled "Accessible communication in online teaching at colleges and universities" was conducted. The survey was addressed to approx. 430 press offices of German colleges and universities addressed.

The questions are related to the following topics:

  • To what extent do the colleges and universities observe the guidelines for barrier-free communication in online teaching?
  • If this is not yet done or only partially done: Why are the requirements not yet being observed?
  • What needs to happen to make online teaching accessible in the short term?

Based on the responses received, the weighting of digital accessibility in online teaching in higher education can be derived. In addition, the results can be used to make explicit suggestions for improvement in dealing with the topic of digital accessibility.


Evaluation of the results of the study on accessible communication

The detailed results and the answers to each individual question can be found in the detailed version of the study.

Based on the responses received, the weighting of digital accessibility in online teaching in higher education can be deduced. The responses to the questions show that at the participating colleges and universities the topic of digital accessibility is playing an increasingly important role.. However, the implementation of accessible communication measures is not always complete.

There are about 75% of colleges and universities have an accessibility officer or similarly mandated person.However, these persons lack the knowledge, resources and (personnel) support to implement and enforce digital accessibility. One of the reasons for this is that the legal requirements for accessibility are not or only partially known. In the winter semester 2021/22, the proportion of online teaching varied greatly; on average, half of the teaching was digital, the other half took place in face-to-face teaching. Some HEIs only offered face-to-face teaching, whereas some HEIs only offered online teaching.

The participating colleges and universities openly showed that the Proportion of applied measures for barrier-free communication very low fails. Only 15 percent always offer "Accessible documents for download/by e-mail", 8 percent always offer "Subtitles for video recordings" and only 4 percent always offer "Transcriptions of audio and video recordings". Many measures, such as "audio description for video recordings" or the provision of sign language interpreters for video or telephone conferences" are only offered partially or on request. Measures such as the provision of "written interpreters during video or telephone conferences" are never provided by 75 per cent.

Accordingly, the participating HEIs state on average that 28 percent of online teaching is already accessible. At none of the participating universities is all online teaching accessible; the highest estimated value was 80 percent.

The survey of German universities on the topic of "Accessible Online Teaching" has made it clear that accessibility is still not very present in everyday digital student life.

Above all, communication barriers caused by the sensory organs or the cognitive prerequisites of the communication participants and a non-barrier-free environment are hardly dealt with. These include hearing or visual impairments.

Communication barriers that arise through the use of certain media, such as text documents, audio or video files, which are not adapted to the intended recipients, in this case the students, can be reduced through the use of barrier-free communication measures. These include the use of sign language interpreters, subtitling and the provision of accessible text documents that can be read by a screen reader.

The results of the survey show that there is an urgent need for action in the area of accessible communication in online teaching. Also in view of the constantly changing legal situation, it makes perfect sense for colleges and universities to upgrade in the area of accessible communication.


 

Important terms on the topic of accessible communication

Back to the table of contents

What is sign language interpreting?

Sign language interpreters translate German spoken language into sign language and vice versa. They facilitate communication between hearing-impaired and hearing people. In Germany, German Sign Language (DGS) or Signs Accompanying Speech (LBG) are used for the time being.

What is written interpretation?

Written interpreters reproduce speeches, lectures or other spoken contributions in writing. The text can be seen on a tablet or on a screen, for example. Prompt written interpretation enables the participation of hearing-impaired people.

What is a transcription?

A transcript is a written record of audio and video recordings. In contrast to written interpreting, the text is not reproduced at the same time as the oral text. The transcript is created afterwards.

What is an audio description?

Audio description is the term used for descriptions of images and situations spoken during pauses in dialogue. Actions, persons or settings are described. Together with the original soundtrack, audio description enables blind and visually impaired people to understand videos and films.

What are accessible documents?

Accessible documents can be easily read by screen readers, for example, and are thus accessible to blind and visually impaired people. There are various legally regulated requirements for this. Above all, the correct formatting is important, but a sensible structuring of the content also increases the readability of text documents.

What are accessible subtitles?

Accessible subtitles, in contrast to simple subtitles, contain acoustic information such as music, sounds or off-voices as well as paralinguistic elements such as volume, pitch or voice modifications like laughing or crying.

These elements are actionable and allow people with hearing impairment to fully access a video file. They thus convey the same level of knowledge that hearing people receive through the audio.

We start your project today: Contact form or

Alle Maßnahmen der barrierefreien Kommunikation aus einer Hand

abtipper.de ist Ihr Partner für die barrierefreie Kommunikation. Wir erstellen für Sie ein kostenloses Konzept und unterstützen Sie gerne auch bei der Umsetzung.

Vereinbaren Sie jetzt Ihren unverbindlichen Beratungstermin!


abtipper.de ist der größte deutsche Anbieter für die Verschriftlichung von Audio- und Videoaufnahmen. Unsere Referenzen:

abtipper Referenzen


Jetzt Ihr Angebot für
barrierefreie Kommunikation erhalten!

Jetzt Ihr Angebot für
barrierefreie Kommunikation erhalten!

Barrierefreie Kommunikation, das ist Barrieren abbauen, gesetzliche Vorgaben einhalten, Commitment zeigen


Weitere Informationen zur barrierefreien Kommunikation


Studie zu barrierefreie Online-Lehre an deutschen Hochschulen

Barrierefreie Kommunikation

In Deutschland leben über 80.000 gehörlose Personen, die einen Anspruch auf gesellschaftliche Teilhabe haben.

Um für dieses wichtige Thema Barrierefreie Kommunikation eine größere Aufmerksamkeit zu erzeugen, haben wir gemeinsam mit der Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft Hörbehinderter Studenten und Absolventen e.V. (BHSA) eine Umfrage zur barrierefreien Online-Lehre an deutschen Hochschulen durchgeführt.

Es zeigt sich, dass schon einiges erreicht wurde, bisher in Deutschland aber nur 28% der Online-Lehre barrierefrei sind. Es besteht also Handlungsbedarf!

Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage können Sie unter folgendem Link kostenlos herunterladen: 

Zum Download der Ergebnisse

 

Behinderte Menschen haben ein Recht auf Bildung. Dazu zählt auch der barrierefreie Zugang zu einer allgemeinen Hochschulbildung. Durch die anhaltende Corona-Pandemie findet an den deutschen Hochschulen seit einigen Semestern primär Online-Lehre statt. PDFs, Videos und Podcasts kommen zum Einsatz. Wie zugänglich ist das Studium für behinderte Menschen derzeit?

Die Beantwortungen der Fragen zeigt auf, dass an den teilnehmenden Hochschulen und Universitäten das Thema digitale Barrierefreiheit nur eingeschränkt behandelt wird. Die teilnehmenden Hochschulen geben durchschnittlich an, dass nur 28 Prozent der Online-Lehre bereits barrierefrei sind. An keiner der teilnehmenden Hochschulen ist die gesamte Online-Lehre barrierefrei.

Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage zeigen, dass dringender Handlungsbedarf im Bereich barrierefreier Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre besteht. Auch im Hinblick auf die sich stetig verändernde rechtliche Lage ist es für Hochschulen und Universitäten durchaus sinnvoll, im Bereich der barrierefreien Kommunikation nachzurüsten.


Die Studie zur barrierefreien Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre an deutschen Hochschulen wurde von abtipper.de in Kooperation mit der Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft Hörbehinderter Studenten und Absolventen e.V., kurz BHSA, durchgeführt.

Die BHSA ist eine Anlaufstelle für Fragen und Probleme im Alltag hörbehinderter Studierender. Sie versteht sich als Selbsthilfegruppe hörbehinderter Menschen im Studium sowie beim Berufseinstieg. Zu ihren Aktivitäten gehören unter anderem Kommunikationstrainings und Einführungsseminare. Die BHSA wurde 1986 gegründet und zählt ca. 300 Mitglieder.


Die Ergebnisse im Detail – Zusammenfassung

Die Studie zielt auf die Barrierefreiheit in der Online-Lehre an deutschen Hochschulen ab. Es handelt sich um digitale barrierefreie Kommunikation. Unter barrierefreier Kommunikation werden verschiedene Maßnahmen der Barrierefreiheit zusammengefasst, unter anderem der Einsatz von Leichter Sprache, Gebärdensprache, Schriftdolmetschen, unterstützter Kommunikation und assistiven Technologien, Audiodeskription und Untertitelung für Menschen mit Hörbehinderung. Durch den Einsatz dieser Maßnahmen in der digitalen Online-Lehre sollen Kommunikationsbarrieren eingedämmt oder vollständig abgebaut werden.

Die Umfrage soll aufzeigen, inwiefern digitale Barrierefreiheit in der Online-Lehre umgesetzt und angestrebt wird. Dazu wurde eine Umfrage mit dem Titel „Barrierefreie Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre an Hochschulen und Universitäten“ durchgeführt. An der Umfrage haben 28 Vertreter und Vertreterinnen verschiedener deutscher Hochschulen und Universitäten teilgenommen.

Die Beantwortungen der Fragen zeigt auf, dass an den teilnehmenden Hochschulen und Universitäten das Thema digitale Barrierefreiheit zunehmend eine wichtige Rolle spielt.

Die teilnehmenden Hochschulen geben durchschnittlich an, dass 28 Prozent der Online-Lehre bereits barrierefrei sind.

An keiner der teilnehmenden Hochschulen ist die gesamte Online-Lehre barrierefrei. Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage zeigen, dass dringender Handlungsbedarf im Bereich barrierefreier Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre besteht. Auch im Hinblick auf die sich stetig verändernde rechtliche Lage ist es für Hochschulen und Universitäten durchaus sinnvoll, im Bereich der barrierefreien Kommunikation nachzurüsten.


Hintergrund der Studie zu barrierefreier Kommunikation

Es wird davon ausgegangen, dass Kommunikationsbarrieren durch mündliche oder schriftliche Texte und dem Einsatz bestimmter Medien entstehen, die nicht an die intendierte Rezipient*innenschaft, hier die Studierenden, angepasst sind. Die Zielgruppe „Studierende“ ist dabei sehr heterogen und setzt sich aus Menschen mit und ohne Behinderung, Menschen mit divergierenden Lebenssituationen und/oder Menschen mit Deutsch als Mutter- oder Fremdsprache zusammen.

Unter Online-Lehre wird im Zuge dieser Umfrage die digitale Lehre mithilfe des Internets verstanden. Dabei wird auf Systeme und Softwares wie beispielsweise Moodle, Zoom, BigBlueButton oder Dropbox zurückgegriffen. Ein Teil der Lehre wird durch das Hochladen von Audio- und/oder Videodateien unterstützt.

Dabei soll die externe und interne Internetpräsentation von Hochschulen und Universitäten im Einklang mit dem Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (BGG) zur Umsetzung der Richtlinie (EU) 2016/21022 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates über den barrierefreien Zugang zu den Websites und mobilen Anwendungen öffentlicher Stellen gestaltet sein, um Inhalte nach Möglichkeit barrierefrei zugänglich zu gestalten. Zu beachten ist auch, dass basierend auf dem Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (BGG) bundeslandeigene Gesetze wie das Sächsische Inklusionsgesetz (SächsInklusG) oder das Niedersächsische Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (NBGG) existieren.


Ansatz der Studie zu barrierefreier Kommunikation

Die Umfrage soll aufzeigen, inwiefern digitale Barrierefreiheit in der Online-Lehre umgesetzt und angestrebt wird. Dazu wurde eine Umfrage mit dem Titel „Barrierefreie Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre an Hochschulen und Universitäten“ durchgeführt. Die Umfrage wurde an ca. 430 Pressestellen deutscher Hochschulen und Universitäten gerichtet.

Die Fragen bewegen sich dabei in folgenden Themenfeldern:

  • Inwieweit beachten die Hochschulen und Universitäten die Vorgaben zur barrierefreien Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre?
  • Falls dies noch nicht oder nur teilweise geschieht: Warum werden die Vorgaben noch nicht beachtet?
  • Was muss geschehen, damit die Online-Lehre kurzfristig auch barrierefrei möglich ist?

Anhand der eingegangenen Beantwortungen lässt sich die Gewichtung von digitaler Barrierefreiheit in der Online-Lehre im Hochschulbereich ableiten. Zudem können anhand der Ergebnisse explizite Verbesserungsvorschläge für den Umgang mit dem Thema digitale Barrierefreiheit gemacht werden.


Auswertung der Ergebnisse der Studie zu barrierefreier Kommunikation

Die detaillierten Ergebnisse und die Antworten auf jede Einzelfrage finden Sie in der ausführlichen Version der Studie.

Anhand der eingegangenen Beantwortungen lässt sich die Gewichtung von digitaler Barrierefreiheit in der Online-Lehre im Hochschulbereich ableiten. Die Beantwortungen der Fragen zeigt auf, dass an den teilnehmenden Hochschulen und Universitäten das Thema digitale Barrierefreiheit zunehmend eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Die Umsetzung von Maßnahmen barrierefreier Kommunikation ist aber nicht immer vollständig.

Es gibt an rund 75% der Hochschulen und Universitäten eine(n) Beauftragte(n) für Barrierefreiheit oder eine ähnlich beauftragte Person, dennoch fehlen diesen Personen das Wissen, die Ressourcen und die (personelle) Unterstützung um digitale Barrierefreiheit umsetzen und durchsetzen zu können. Dies liegt unter anderem daran, dass die gesetzlichen Vorgaben zur Barrierefreiheit nicht oder nur teilweise bekannt sind. In dem Wintersemester 2021/22 variiert der Anteil von Online-Lehre stark, durchschnittlich die Hälfte der Lehre war digital, die andere Hälfte fand in Präsenzlehre statt. Einige Hochschulen boten nur Präsenzlehre an, wohingegen einige Hochschulen nur Online-Lehre angeboten haben.

Die teilnehmenden Hochschulen und Universitäten zeigten offen, dass der Anteil an angewandten Maßnahmen für barrierefreie Kommunikation sehr gering ausfällt. Nur 15 Prozent bieten immer „Barrierefreie Dokumente zum Download/per E-Mail“ an, 8 Prozent bieten immer „Untertitel bei Videoaufnahmen“ und lediglich 4 Prozent bieten immer „Transkriptionen von Ton- und Videoaufnahmen“ an. Viele Maßnahmen, wie „Audiodeskription bei Videoaufnahmen“ oder das Bereitstellen von Gebärdensprachdolmetscher*innen bei Video- oder Telefonkonferenzen“ werden nur teilweise oder auf Nachfrage angeboten. Maßnahmen wie das Bereitstellen von „Schriftdolmetscher*innen bei Video- oder Telefonkonferenzen“ werden bei 75 Prozent nie bereitgestellt.

Dementsprechend geben die teilnehmenden Hochschulen durchschnittlich an, dass 28 Prozent der Online-Lehre bereits barrierefrei sind. An keiner der teilnehmenden Hochschulen ist die gesamte Online-Lehre barrierefrei, der höchstgeschätzte Wert lag bei 80 Prozent.

Durch die Umfrage an deutschen Hochschulen zu dem Thema „Barrierefreie Online-Lehre“ ist verdeutlicht worden, dass Barrierefreiheit im digitalen studentischen Alltag noch wenig präsent ist.

Vor allem Kommunikationsbarrieren, welche durch die Sinnesorgane oder die kognitiven Voraussetzungen der Kommunikationsteilnehmer*innen und eine nicht barrierefreie Umgebung hervorgerufen werden, werden kaum bearbeitet. Dazu zählen Hör- oder Sehbeeinträchtigungen.

Kommunikationsbarrieren welche durch den Einsatz bestimmter Medien, wie Textdokumenten, Audio- oder Videodateien entstehen, die nicht an die intendierte Rezipient*innenschaft, hier die Studierenden, angepasst sind, könnten durch den Einsatz von Maßnahmen von barrierefreier Kommunikation abgebaut werden. Dazu zählen der Einsatz von Gebärdensprachdolmetscher*innen, Untertitelung und das Bereitstellen barrierefreier, also von einem Screenreader lesbaren, Textdokumente.

Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage zeigen, dass dringender Handlungsbedarf im Bereich barrierefreier Kommunikation in der Online-Lehre besteht. Auch im Hinblick auf die sich stetig verändernde rechtliche Lage ist es für Hochschulen und Universitäten durchaus sinnvoll, im Bereich der barrierefreien Kommunikation nachzurüsten.


 

Wichtige Begriffe zum Thema barrierefreie Kommunikation

Zurück zum Inhaltsverzeichnis

Was ist Gebärdensprachdolmetschen?

Gebärdensprachdolmetscher*innen übersetzen die deutsche Lautsprache in die Gebärdensprache und andersherum. Sie erleichtern die Kommunikation zwischen gehörgeschädigten und hörenden Menschen. In Deutschland werden vorläufig die Deutsche Gebärdensprache (DGS) oder die Lautsprachbegleitenden Gebärden (LBG) genutzt.

Was ist Schriftdolmetschen?

Schriftdolmetscher*innen geben Reden, Vorträge oder weitere Wortbeiträge schriftlich wieder. Der Text ist beispielsweise auf einem Tablet oder auf einer Leinwand zu sehen. Durch zeitnahes Schriftdolmetschen wird die Teilhabe von hörgeschädigten Personen ermöglicht.

Was ist eine Transkription?

Ein Transkript ist eine Verschriftlichung von Audio- und Videoaufnahmen. Im Gegensatz zum Schriftdolmetschen wird der Text nicht zeitgleich mit dem mündlichen Text wiedergegeben. Das Transkript wird im Nachhinein erstellt.

Was ist eine Audiodeskription?

Als Audiodeskription werden in Dialogpausen eingesprochene Bild- und Situationsbeschreibungen bezeichnet. Handlungen, Personen oder Schauplätze werden beschrieben. Zusammen mit der originalen Tonspur ermöglicht die Audiodeskription blinden und seheingeschränkten Menschen das Verstehen von Videos und Filmen.

Was sind barrierefreie Dokumente?

Barrierefreie Dokumente können beispielsweise von Screenreadern problemlos gelesen werden und werden dadurch für blinde und seheingeschränkte Menschen zugänglich. Dafür gibt es diverse, gesetzlich geregelte Vorgaben. Vor allem die richtige Formatierung ist dafür wichtig, aber auch eine sinnvolle inhaltliche Strukturierung erhöht die Rezipierbarkeit von Textdokumenten.

Was sind barrierefreie Untertitel?

Barrierefreie Untertitel enthalten im Gegensatz zu einfachen Untertiteln akustische Informationen wie Musik, Geräusche oder Off-Stimmen sowie paralinguistische Elemente wie Lautstärke, Tonhöhe oder Stimmmodifikationen wie Lachen oder Weinen.

Diese Elemente sind handlungstragend und ermöglichen Menschen mit Hörschädigung den vollständigen Zugang zu einer Videodatei. Sie vermitteln somit denselben Kenntnisstand, den auch Hörende durch die Audio erhalten.

Wir starten noch heute mit Ihrem Projekt: Kontaktformular oder